Instructor: Ding Yuan
Course Number: ECE454 Lec01

Home
Discussion (piazza)
Lab Assignments
Schedule and Lecture Notes
Grades (UofT portal)

Computer Systems Programming

ECE454 Lec01, Fall 2014
University of Toronto


Course Schedule (Tentative) and Lecture Notes

Slides will be posted before the lecture.

Date Lecture
Sep 5 (Fri) Intro
Sep 9 (Tue) What is Performance, CPU Architecture
Sep 10 (Wed) CPU Architecture
Sep 12 (Fri) Measuring and Profiling
Sep 16 (Tue) Measuring and Profiling, Compiler and Optimization (I)
Sep 17 (Wed) Compiler and Optimization (I)
Sep 19 (Fri) Compiler and Optimization (I),Compiler and Optimization (II)
Sep 23 (Tue) Compiler and Optimization (II)
Sep 24 (Wed) Compiler and Optimization (II)
Sep 26 (Fri) Memory Performance (Review of memory hierarchy)
Sep 30 (Tue) Memory Performance (Optimizing for cache)
Oct 1 (Wed) Memory Performance (virtual memory and prefetching)
Oct 3 (Fri) Memory Performance (virtual memory and prefetching)
Oct 10 (Fri) Dynamic memory
Oct 14 (Tue) Dynamic memory
Oct 15 (Wed) Dynamic memory
Oct 17 (Fri) Dynamic memory
Oct 21 (Tue) Dynamic memory
Oct 22 (Wed) HW3 tutorial, Midterm review
Oct 24 (Fri) Midterm review
Oct 28 (Tue) Threads and synchronization
Oct 29 (Wed) Threads and synchronization
Oct 31 (Fri) Threads and synchronization
Nov 4 (Tue) Threads and synchronization
Nov 5 (Wed) Parallel Architectures and Performance Implications (part I)
Nov 7 (Fri) Parallel Architectures and Performance Implications (part I)
Nov 11 (Tue) Parallel Architectures and Performance Implications (part I)
Nov 12 (Wed) Parallel Architectures and Performance Implications (part II)
Nov 14 (Fri) Parallel Architectures and Performance Implications (part II)
Nov 18 (Tue) Big data analytics
Nov 21 (Fri) Homework 5 Tutorial, How does facebook work
Nov 25 (Tue) Advanced topic: How does facebook work
Nov 28 (Fri) Advanced topic: Why does the cloud fail and what can be done about it?
Dec 2 (Tue) Advanced topic: Profiling in the cloud era
Dec 3 (Wed) Final review